The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the given memo, the student housing director insists to build additional new dormitories. It is supported by the increasing enrollment at Buckingham College, the increasing rent in the town, and the attractiveness of new dormitories to students. However, in order to evaluate the argument properly, several aspects have been additionally considered.

Firstly, the current trends of enrollment might not be adequate to expect the number of students in the next 50 years. There might be up and down for the number of students at the college depending on various circumstances. Probably the college accepted more students for the last five years as there were a greater number of students in these ages compared to other generations. In this case, it is hardly expectable the college will continue to increase its capacity. Therefore, expecting the student number will be doubled in 50 years might not make sense.

Secondly, the risen rent may be due to the increased number of students who chose to live off-campus rather than in the dormitories. If the housing fee for living off-campus has decreased, so it is cheaper than living in the dormitories while a similar quality is provided, more students might have preferred to live off-campus. Thus, in order to utilize the risen rent in the town to support the argument, the director will need to examine whether the increased rent is due to the increased number of students who decided to live off-campus.

Thirdly, new dormitories might not be attractive to students if the cost is unaffordably high. For many students, the housing fee is the most costly part, and they are willing to reduce it to a minimum. If new dormitories are built, the fee for them might be expensive as their facilities are all new and nice. Then, as students seriously consider housing fee, not that many students may choose the new dormitories. Hence, in this case, the argument cannot hold water.

To sum up, the assertion, as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. In order to strengthen it, the director will need to examine the three suggested aspects above. If it cannot be proved adequately, the argument will not be able to persuade others.