The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the reading passage, it argues that the Super Screen Movie Production Company has to extend its budget to an advertisement. However, in order to evaluate the recommendation, more information and evidence are required regarding the following questions.

Firstly, are the contents of movies intriguing the public? When we select which movie to watch, one of the most critical criteria is the contents of a movie, for example, love, crimes, or special season-related themes. If the company's last year's movies were full of minor themes, it might be the reason for the decline in the number of movie watchers. In addition, those who love the minor themes will more like its movies, which might explain the increased percentage of positive reviews. Hence, if then, the reduced move watchers are unrelated to the public's unawareness about its movies, and the argument cannot hold water.

Secondly, is the decline in movie watchers shown only to the company? Perhaps the decreased movie watcher situation happened widely in the film industry not only for the Super Screen Movie Production Company but also for others. For example, like our current situation, during COVID19, people eschew to go outside and most of the activities have reduced. If then, the reason for the decreased number who attended the movies is irrelevant to the public's lack of awareness, and it will weaken the recommendation.

Thirdly, how many portions of movie watchers left reviews? Perhaps those who wrote reviews were only a few of the entire movie watchers, so it might not represent that those who watched movies were satisfied with its movies. In general, only a few people who are strongly impressed by the movie write reviews and it hardly represents the entire movie watchers' opinions. Thus, the company should not think that the increased positive movie reviews indicate that its movie quality was high enough based on the reviews. It shows the argument can be undermined with the lack of representativeness of the reviews.

To sum up, the recommendation, as it stands now, seems implausible due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the director fails to provide proper evidence or information to answer those mentioned three questions, it cannot be persuasive.