To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Social traits, which is including a variety of aspects from entertainment to business, are built by those who consist of society. Some are dubious about how the limited number of cities can represent the significant social traits as the way people live is affected by various factors such as environment and average income levels. However, there are several powerful reasons to conduct research on large cities to understand major social characteristics.

Firstly, entertainment facilities are not evenly distributed across a country, but unevenly placed, especially more in big cities. The primary purpose of those facilities such as museums and concert halls is to convey one’s ideas or opinions in various ways from paintings to musicals. In order to efficiently achieve this goal, it is important to gather as many people as possible, and the major cities are great places compared to other parts. Once they are conveyed, it is discussed among those customers and they reproduce the culture by adding their own ideas to the original ones. This is how social traits are constructed in society. It demonstrates great accessibility to entertainment grants them more chances to create social characteristics.

Secondly, most large companies are placed in major cities leading the society’s business traits. Companies are eager to make a profit by selling their products or services to various customers. Since it is time-consuming and inefficient to customize everything one by one, they try to reflect the prevailing social trends to maximize their possibilities of success. For instance, Seoul is one of the biggest cities with a glut of well-known companies in Korea. As it is always crowded with various range of ages, the companies have a lot greater chances to observe the possible target customers than those in others. For the advantage of easy accessibility to society, many companies hope to move their companies to the city if their financial states allow. It clearly explains major cities are where beneficial to study prevalent social characteristics.

The opposite opinion with this article cannot be completely ignored. However, they are more likely to focus on the possible varieties in a society depending on one’s own circumstances. If the study is aiming to analyze the major social traits, they need to find the solutions in the large cities as many entertainment facilities and companies are gathered there.