In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Making a significant contribution in a certain field is a dream of many researchers, but not everyone can grab a chance for it. Some people insist that every outstanding success is followed by the strong effect of preceding achievements in the field. Although it might be partially true, it is difficult to certainly conclude that the possibility of notable contribution is determined by the influence of preceding research.

It cannot be denied that more advanced techniques or products can be easily created when it is based on previous studies. For the sake of the accumulation of knowledge, the current researchers do not need to start from scratch. For example, engineers simply learn and apply the mathematical and physical formulas rather than verify all the basic theorems and investigate natural phenomena as Newton and Einstein did. It demonstrates that previous research can provide advantages for future steps. Hence, the influence of preceding success can positively affect the advent of future achievements.

On the other hand, there are many cases in which preceding studies do not affect the achievement of a huge success. It happens more frequently in the fields pursuing innovative ideas such as art. Styles of drawing have been continuously changed by the leading painters, who have brought a whole new one. For instance, when Impressionism firstly came out, it was like a revolution as it was a totally different style to represent an object or landscape. It was possible as a painter tried to change the way to depict the world from what it was supposed to be to how it literally looks like. Impressionism is hardly influenced by the previous style but rather created by a creative painter. Therefore, in this case, past success is not vitally essential for further development and achievement.

It can be said that previous success is advantageous for future success up to a certain point. However, it is not a vital element to make a significant achievement. Some of the future success might be a form of the advance of previous research, whereas others might be created as themselves with creators’ passion and endeavors.