The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, the writer insists that prohibiting skateboarding will result in recovering business of Central Plaza. It is supported by the changes in Central Plaza with the advent of skateboard riders: the decreased sales of stores and the increased litter and vandalism. While the recommendation of letter may make sense, there are several questions to be answered in order to vindicate the causality.

Firstly, were there any changes to the stores in Central Plaza? Whether the stores two years ago and now are identical is an important matter. If there were some changes, the sales or the number of shoppers cannot be directly compared. For example, those who visit Central Plaza are mostly aiming to take a rest apart from the urban area and works. When there is a bookstore in Central Plaza, more people will be willing to stop by and get some books to read lying at the plaza. In contrast, the grocery store near the plaza will have far fewer shoppers as people might not want to be stressed to think about somewhat related to housework such as what to buy for dinner or whether they need to buy toilet papers as it almost runs out at home. If a bookstore near the plaza has been changed to a grocery store, or similarly a certain store changed to another type of store, the decreased shoppers may not be related to the increased number of skateboard users. As a result, the recommendation of letter is significantly weakened in this case.

Secondly, has the number of people gathered in Central plaza has increased? Probably, new tall buildings might have been built around Central Plaza within two years increasing the number of people near the plaza area. Or perhaps another plaza in the city has been shut down, making Central Plaza the only place for picnics in the city. In either case, more people will gather at Central Plaza, the amount of litter they throw will also increase, and the plaza will be messier. If the entire number of people who go to Central Plaza other than skateboard users has increased, the writer cannot simply blame the skateboard riders. If the mess and vandalism in Central Plaza are related to other plaza visitors, not the skateboard users, the recommendation will not be able to hold water anymore.

To sum up, the letter, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to the reliance on the unwarranted assumptions in drawing the recommendation to recover the adverse situation in the Central Plaza stores. In order to strongly insist on the suggested recommendation is appropriate, the writer will have to clearly answer the questions pertaining to the changes in stores in Central Plaza and the number of plaza visitors.