Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the given reading passage, Nature’s Way, a franchise selling health-related products, is aiming to open a store in Plainsville. It argues that Plainsville is a proper target as it seems that the residents put significant importance on healthy lives. However, it seems there are unstated assumptions, which might weaken the state if those cannot be properly explained.

Firstly, sales of exercise-related products do not always mean the residents’ healthy lives. Exercise clothing is so comfortable that many people wear it not only during exercising but also in everyday life. For example, many students wear leggings, which are originally made for running or aerobics, when they go to school. Moreover, people wear running shoes everyday as it is light with less fatigues to their feet. Therefore, high sales of running shoes and exercising clothing hardly support the town residents’ healthy lives.

Secondly, if the town residents’ eager to live healthy lives, they might already take health-related products for their health. Many people who consider their health usually intake nutrition supplements regularly such as vitamin C or iron. If lots of residents already have certain stores where they regularly buy health-related products, it might be hard to attract customers.

Thirdly, the financial state of Plainsville’s residents might not be enough to spend money on enrollment in children’s exercise programs. If a large portion of residents of that county is unaffordable to participate in the programs, although there are many potential customers, it will not result in what they expected.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the writer cannot explain the aspects stated above properly, the argument will not be able to be considered credible.