The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Analysis of factors of enhancing societies’ well-being has been actively conducted and it includes various aspects from incomes to free education levels. Although questioning authority by many people has also suggested as enhancing the well-being of society, it does not seem true.

Firstly, trusting authority is beneficial in the enhancement of societies’ well-being. Questioning what authority is doing might mean people are doubting about authority. When someone is doubted by others, they cannot wholly focus on their works, but they are distracted. The works of government, supporting the entire society, is not easy at all and requires high concentrations. If they are distracted by many questions from people, they will need to put extra effort into explaining those doubts are not true. Hence, when people question authority too much, society will be harder to enhance their well-being.

Secondly, too much questioning to authority can make it vacillate. Government is where working for its society and those who work there are always trying to listen to what many people are saying. When a government is about to start implementing a new policy, if people always question anything even for trivial, it will not be able to conduct it and they need to change many parts of what they planned. If it happens often, the government might eventually forgo trying somewhat new that seems beneficial to society’s well-being, and further enhancement might be hard. Therefore, excessive questioning of authority is undesirable.

On the other hand, there is a possibility of unfair works by the government when there is no questioning from people. In order to improve the well-being, those who work for a society has to be incorrupt. However, as they are human beings, they can be easily tempted by self-interesting choices if they think there is no one who watches what they do. Hence, it seems a certain amount of questions are required but it should not necessarily be many.

To sum up, although some questions from people who are engaged in society are necessary, excessive questions will be detrimental to society. Therefore, in order to enhance the well-being of a society, people will need to question only for significant matters about authority.