The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Regarding the methodology to teach children, more than hundreds of opinions have been suggested, and it is still disputable to decide which one is the best. Some people insist that providing clear positive and negative feedback on children’s behaviors is the best way as it will help them clearly understand what is right and wrong. Some others say giving no feedback and letting them learn themselves is the best. However, I believe the most effective and efficient way to teach is to give feedback only on positive actions and ignore negative ones. This article will delineate the reasons why I support this teaching methodology.

Firstly, there are no children who do not like to be praised. We all are naturally born to mingle with others and always eager to be loved in society. A compliment is one of the ways that we can feel others are respecting and loving us; thus, we are more likely to take action to get more praise. If teachers praise their children when they do desirable actions, they will feel happy and be willing to continue actions that accompanied compliments. Therefore, I insist that praising children with desirable actions is beneficial.

Secondly, ignorance is enough to let children know their actions were undesirable. Some insist that children will not be able to detect whether they conducted bad behaviors if there is no feedback. However, it is not true. Human beings are naturally sensitive to the actions of others and being ignored hurts our feelings. When children are used to being praised for their desirable actions and do not get any feedback from some actions, they will pause their actions and think about reasons. When they realize the reasons for the absence of feedback, they will stop their undesirable behaviors. Thus, I believe ignoring bad behaviors is sufficient feedback to educate children.

Thirdly, negative feedback can be harmful to children. To be specific, negative feedback can result in undesirable emotional conditions. For example, when teachers or parents punish their children, they will be worried about being punished again so they may hesitate to do other actions. As a result, they might grow up relatively less confident in making decisions or taking action. In other cases, traumatic punishment may induce aggressive behaviors when they grow up. Thus, I support that ignoring negative actions is a better way of teaching, compared to giving negative feedback.

There are a number of ways to teach children, and related arguments will never end. Perhaps which teaching way is more effective or efficient may depend on the target individuals or societies. However, if I have to choose the best one to apply in general, I would like to suggest that it is praising desirable behaviors and ignoring undesirable ones.