In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given reading passage argues that other approaches that have been undertaken in Butler County roads have to be applied rather than the currently applied one. However, in order to evaluate the argument properly, the county has to examine the following aspects first.

Firstly, the number of cars on Prunty County roads might have increased. In general, the possibility of car accidents increases with the increased number of cars on roads. Perhaps there were a number of people who moved from other counties to Prunty County with their cars last year. Then, there might have been more cars, as result, more accidents happened. That is, the increased accidents are not due to the inefficacy of new policy, reducing the speed limit. In this case, the argument that the county has to apply other policies as they failed with the newly applied policy is weakened.

Secondly, the reason why there were many drivers exceeding the speed limit might be the unawareness of the changed limit. Not everyone is interested in how every policy is changing, so the government or the city council has to inform a new policy strongly with various materials. Perhaps Prunty County did not well inform the changed speed limit, so many drivers thought the limit is still 55 rather than 45 miles per hour. If then, the newly changed policy cannot be evaluated whether it was effective to reduce car accidents as it was not actually applied. Hence, if it is true, the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, the current road quality of Prunty County might differ from that of Butler County 5 years ago. Before applying new policies, which were successful in Butler County, the current road conditions of Prunty County have to be evaluated first. Perhaps the road conditions of Butler County five years ago was the nadir, so the major cause of accidents was related to the bad quality of roads. If then, the enhancement of roads might have been beneficial to reduce accidents. However, perhaps the case of Prunty County is different: its roads might have already great conditions. If then, the new policy might not achieve such improvement as the Butler County’s case and the argument is weakened.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is potentially flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the argument is either one of the cases mentioned above, the argument will not be persuasive.