The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the reading passage, it argues that the television station's late-night program has to recover the time for weather and local news to their previous level in order to attract more viewers and maintain revenues from advertising. However, in order to evaluate the argument, more information has to be provided regarding the three following aspects.

Firstly, how many people are unsatisfied with the new distribution of time - more in national news and less in weather and local news. In general, those who are satisfied with the current situation do not make a certain action while those who have complaints are more likely to express their opinions. Perhaps the television station feels viewers want more time for weather forecasting and local news due to the complaints, it might not be the dominant view. If then, the argument is weakened.

Secondly, the reasons why local businesses canceled the contracts with the television station might be not related to local news time duration. Perhaps the local businesses are suffering from financial problems due to the nation wide crisis. If then, in order to save their money, they might have to cancel all the advertisements not only for the television station but also for others. In this situation, although the television station re-increases the time for local news, they will not re-contract with the station, and the argument cannot hold water.

Thirdly, there might be reasons why they decided to increase the time to national news. Perhaps a huge business has made a contraction with a much higher amount of money than the local businesses have been suggested. Or perhaps they receive more national subsidies as they convey new governmental policies for longer times. If then, the reduction of time to national news will result in losing their money, which is disadvantageous to the television station. Thus, if it is true, the argument is undermined.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, seems considerably unplausible due to its reliance on unrevealed evidence and information. If the business manager fails to provide proper evidence to prove those mentioned three cases are irrelevant to its case, it cannot be persuasive.