Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The reading passage argues that evaluating professors has to be terminated to recover the hired rate of students who graduate from Omega University. It is based on the potential employers’ view that the dramatically risen grades cannot be trusted to represent students’ achievement. However, in order to confirm the suggestion, several aspects have to be thoroughly considered.

Firstly, the grading system might have changed. Perhaps, the university utilized a relative grading system more than 15 years ago, but it changed it to an absolute grading system. In this case, a dramatic rise in grades can happen as they apply different standards to grade students even for the case of receiving the exactly same exam result. Hence, if a new grading system has been applied since 15 years ago, terminating student evaluation of professors will not result in any significant changes in students’ grades.

Secondly, it is unclear that overall falling in grades will change potential employers’ views about Omega University. Once someone has a preposition to something, change it oppositely is extremely hard. As they already got negative points of view to the university, in order to change it, the university might need to provide stronger impacts than just changed grade rates, such as students’ academic achievements in conferences or prestigious institutions. Thus, it is hard to say that simply terminating the evaluating process will result in an increase in students’ hiring rate.

Thirdly, there is no evidence whether students’ evaluation of professors forced the professors to give them higher grades. Professors are those who studied for a long time and they usually have their own faith in their individual fields. It is dubious whether the students’ evaluation critically influenced their decisions on grading. Perhaps there are other unveiled reasons to give higher grades such as better performance compared to 20 years ago students. If then, the argument cannot hold water.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the university cannot provide evidence of those mentioned aspects are irrelevant, the argument will not be persuasive.