People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People form their attitudes based on not only their own proclivity but also other external factors such as their current situations, surroundings, or a whole society. There are contradicting views on which one of them is the most powerful in determining people’s attitudes. While all of them are responsible at least partially for human being’s behaviors, the impact from a whole society is the most influential one.

Firstly, laws in society form people’s attitudes strongly: our lives are confined to full of rules. For example, when we cross a walk, we unconsciously follow traffic rules: stop at the led light and start crossing in the green light. Laws are also applied in grocery stores: no one just brings the groceries without purchasing them. If they were more influenced by their current situation or surroundings rather than laws, they might have crossed the walk in the red light not to be late to a meeting or not paid for the groceries considering their financial states, however, not many people are doing them. Thus, it shows people’s attitudes are clearly determined by society as a whole more than their current situations or surroundings.

Secondly, cultural norms cannot be ignored in our lives. Apart from laws, there are cultural norms that might have not been written in letters, but everyone in society implicitly follows them. For example, in Korea, when we make a conversation with older people, we use different forms of words from when we talk with our friends. Also, there are manners such as holding a door for others with heavy boxes in their hands or being quiet during a presentation. Likewise, someone’s situations might be contradicting to follow cultural norms, but these norms usually have a higher priority to individuals’ situations or surroundings. Therefore, it shows cultural norms determine people’s attitudes more strongly compared to individuals’ situations or surroundings.

Still, there are many thoughts on the factors in determining people’s attitudes. Some people insist that behavior patterns in a friend group in young children show surroundings might have a stronger influence in determining behaviors. However, those cases are relatively trivial compared to how laws and cultural norms have formed general behaviors. Therefore, society as a whole has the most important role in determining people’s attitudes.