The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In order to reduce rush hour traffic of blue highway, adding a bicycle lane is being considered as a better alternative instead of widening the highway by adding an additional lane as there are keen bicyclists in the area and the consequences after widening the highway in a nearby highway was not positive.However, before implementing such action, the authority must answer certain questions for avoiding possible flaws in the assumptions.

First of all, commuters who are the actual sufferer of the rush hour traffic are proposing to widen the high way by adding an additional lane of traffic. there is af possibility that the majority if the commuters are preferring motor vehicle.The highway between the suburbs and the city center must be a long journey for the commuters which is why they may not prefer bicycle as the medium of commute.A bicycle lane, thus would not encourage them to use bicycles and would not have any impact in reducing the rush hour traffic.

Secondly, the keen bicyclists of the area might not be the one who is complaining. perhaps they do not use bicycle for high way instead prefer biking within the less rushing ways inside the suburbs. Moreover, bicycle for highway travel is not considered safe which is a concern for safety issue for the commuters. thus it would have no impact on reducing rush hour traffic of the high way.

Finally, the nearby green highway that implemented widening the highway by an additional lane last year had a negative impact probably because it has a completely different type of commuters. perhaps blue highway has no similarity with green highway in terms of utilization. Additionally, the comparison with the consequences which happened a year back is certainly absurd as the scenario changes with time quite fast.

In conclusion, there are major flaws in the assumptions that require significant amount of modifications to be considered as a pragmatic approach. The authority must find out possible evidences before implementing any such action. there is a possibility of a better solution to be implemented in such case. The authority must analyze the scenario prudently in order to bring out the best possible solution.