Dr.Carp, An anthropologist

In the article, Dr. Carp claims that the observation done by a noted anthropologist Dr. Field about the children island Tertia 20 years ago is invalid as the results from his interview based cultural study give different scenario. However, the statement made by the author has major concerns as it is based on assumptions that do not have any validity.

Firstly, the observation by Dr. Field happened 20 years ago which might be correct considering the time zone. Dr. Carp’s interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia happened recently that has nothing to be compared with an observation happening 20 years back.

Secondly, the author’s interviews included children from not only the island Tertia but also from some other island which make the scenario not actually based on the particular island Tertia. It is very possible that children living in Tertia are still reared by not just their biological parents but also by the villagers of the island. May be they were very few in number than the amount of children from other islands who are perhaps reared by their biological parents. In addition, there is a possibility that the children who were interviewed by the author were mostly from other islands than Tertia.

Finally, observation centered cultural study might not be invalid as the author claims as the observation is done by reviewing a wide variety of people who belong to that particular region while interview based cultural study might have major fallacies as very few people would attain the interview process as most of the village people are too shy to participate in interviews. Moreover,The author claims that the interview centered method that his team of graduate students currently using in Tertia would establish more accurate understanding of cultural tradition might be wrong. It is very possible that students who will conduct the interview process among the villagers of the island may fail to bring the actual scenario as many of them perhaps would be less interested in digging into the cultural tradition of the villagers. They might not give enough time and effort to make the actual scenario which would lead the method an invalid one.

In conclusion, unless the author makes proper answers of the above mentioned fallacies, there is no way to rely on his claim. He must dig into the scenarios mentioned above and make enough evidences to justify his claim as a valid prediction.