To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

By studying the major cities of a society, it is quite unwarranted to understand the most important characteristics of a society as it may vary from one to another. A society could be built for different reasons and generalizing the comprehensiveness of a society’s characteristics as its major cities are, would be dubious.

Firstly, a society could be consisted of a vast area with multiple provinces where there would be huge geographical distances between the major cities. it would be unreasonable to think that all the major cities would represent the same culture. For instance, indian society is consisted of a huge geographical area and there are huge differences in culture and tradition from the northern part to the southern part, eastern to the western part of the same society. Mumbai is one of the major cities which is well connected to the international world but there are provinces which never encountered any global trait. Kashmir people are way too different then the Bengolies of the west. studying the west bengal culture would not provide enough idea about the indian society as a whole as they have their own kind of culture, food habit and traditions.

Secondly, a society may not have natives as its major population and may have more immigrants which would have bigger impact in shaping the society’s characteristics. For example, cities of north America like Toronto of Canada or New York of US has a vast population of immigrants coming from different parts of the world for study or work or family purpose. studying one of these cities would have completely different idea than any of the north American society’s characteristics.

Finally, the major tourist spots of a society are mostly considered for their traditional or historical or aesthetic al reasons which have no connection with the societies important characteristics. Santorini of Greece is one of the most celebrated cities of the Europe which is known for its aesthetic and historical background. if an avid learner studies this city in order to know about european culture, he or she would be highly disappointed as modern european culture has advanced a lot than that historical culture.

In conclusion, a major city of any society may have some features of its characteristics if the city is selected after proper evaluation, yet it is very unlikely to expect any city to represent any particular society. The prompt is rational only at a limited level and cannot be generalized for any case.