The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

A musician can be popular and not enough to be assessed as talented. there is a firm distinction between fame and talent that leads an artist to wait for several generations if not death to be assessed as talented accurately. fame may hinder the actual assessment as popularity may overshadow talent.

Firstly, being accepted by the new generation which is basically known as popularity has nothing to do with being assessed as talented. every new generation seeks new style and composition to break the boredom of entertainment. Following the trend, a lot of innovations and fusions are made to feed the tempt of the new generation. Sometimes these yet to flourish bands and musicians attract huge attention and earn name and fame which assesses them as famous apparently. Weather they are actually a talent or not is yet to be assessed as it could be momentary or semi permanent.

Secondly, a lot of talented artists are there who are not popular as they fail to grab the attention or simply unfortunate to be exposed. In literary, there are many examples where the writer’s most famous creation was exposed after his death. may be his writing could not appeal the contemporaries but attracted the future generation. Same goes for music as both are the two major but different forms of art. For example, Michael Jackson was popular in his entire life for his compositions and dance. yet he was considered as a legend only after his death as it is the next generations who are still seeking his works. An artist becomes a legend when the future generation is considering his works despite being availed by the new generation’s work.

Finally, fame is temporary where class is permanent. classical music is adored by every generation no matter what age group it is. A music could be considered classic only after a definite period when it is no longer considered as a creation of a certain generation. Honest assessment is done when there is no possibility of considering the current popularity a musician is having.

In conclusion, an artist could be famous and talented in his living period and the assessment could be real but until it is appreciated by the next generations equally, it could not be considered as assessed properly. it is very likely that a musician would not see the real assessment in his life as it is possible only after being assessed by several generations.