The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company. "Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of acme publishing company claims that acme should require all their employees to take the easy read course as many other companies have recently took that initiative and got positive results. before implementing such action, the president of acme must answer certain questions with credibility which is raised from the flawed assumptions.

Firstly, the statement from other companies claim that one of their graduate was able to read a 500 page in two hours and another rose from assistant manager to vice president within a year. how much valid are these information? there is a possibility that these two employees were already skilled enough to reach the position that fast and the course had nothing much to do with them. another reason of such claim could be that these company's are getting promotional percentage for advertising easy read course. if these are the facts, then such action would go in vain.

Secondly, does it make sense to believe the idea that the faster one read, the more information one can absorb in a single workday? fast reading may lead to incomprehensible reading and the productivity of the worker may decline for absorbing so much information within a day. The worker may face fatigue at work place causing detrimental impact for the company.

Finally, how much effective is it to spend 500 dollar for each employ for a 3 week course at a different city which also comes with life long subscription to easy read? would that cover the living costs of the employee? What if the employees would become so skilled and like to ask for a pay raise or switch to another company as they already have life long subscription? would that be economical for the company? there is a big possibility that it would not.

In conclusion, the questions mentioned above must be investigated with reliable evidence before taking any such action. may be there is a different side of the story which would make the president to not take such initiative after investiation.