Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The first claim of the prompt mentions the responsibility of a corporation towards the society and environment ensuring their well being. The second claim brings out the deeper interest of any corporation mentioning their restricted path while operating under provided law making money as their only concern. The second claim is more aligned to what a corporation would primarily consider but the term “only” is somewhat weakens the claim as not being concerned about the society or environment is not how it works in reality.

Firstly, if any industrial corporation is considered, definitely its prime concern would be making profit as much as possible and establishing rules so that it brings more product within limited investment and ensuring larger profit. For instance, if the amonia production is considered which has ubiquitous use around the world especially as fertilizer, it would be seen that a myriad of chemicals are used to make the process faster whereas too much chemical is equally bad for the environment and the society. Still they do not ban the idea of using excessive chemical as they prefer having more product than anything else.

Another factor to be considered is that despite making profit as the major consideration of any corporation, there must be laws that consider environment friendliness that the industry must follow otherwise it would be blacklisted by the government following a banning if not followed strictly. The amonia industry must have chimneys to suck the wasted chemical out and must have treatment plant within the industry to make sure it does not affect the environment crossing the limited boundry. The industry must pay a good amount to establish and maintain the treatment plant which does not bring money but keeps the industry going.

If the corporation has a conflict between profit making and safety issues, it would keep the former one as primary and the later one as secondary. The amonia industry will not pay a bigger amount to maintain the treatment plant rather they would curb the budget from this part and would include to the part where they can buy more chemicals for ensuring more profit.

In conclusion, money is what keeps a corporation running. At the same time it is established to make some benefit towards the society. so it could be said that the two claims are interrelated definitely but the second claim is to some extent the priority.