Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your

own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The environment in which businesses and organizations operate is vital to how much money the corporations would make and the development of the host community. The prompt recommend that some people was of the opinion that the organisations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeign of the community in which they operate, while others believed that the organisation’s aim is to make profit provided they abide by rule of the community. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the view that suggested there should be a social responsibility to the host community by the organizations because of two reasons.

To begin, the community play a pivotal in how much profit a business will make in that the citizen of the society will directly patronize the businesses there by providing a ready-made market for the business. For instance, a food canteen that makes food readily available in the early hours of the day will need working class people and students that goes to work and school early as her customers. The business could organize a free food day (maybe once in a month) as incentive to her direct customers which will improve the relationship of their customers. The business can also donates writing material and books to the students as a social responsibility which will make the business most sought after in the community.

Secondly, the host community could safeguard the business in case of any turmoil that mayocuur within the community. For instance, an oil industry located in a restive environment where there is militancy and kidnapping, could face the wrath of the militant activities if the company lack a good relationship with the host community. The company could establish vocational center where the restive militant can be train and quipped with facilities to start their own life rather than being a militia. The company could have created other social amenities to the host community which will serve as very good reason to protect the business by the citizen in case of any uproar.

Of course, some might argue that since the company have fulfill the legal responsibility to the government, the only aim is to make profit. But the community in which the government is not catering for would not allow such company to flourish even if the company fulfil all the legal duty. Business should make the social responsibility a very integral part of their business plans in other to make a very good profit, and to create a safe and enabling environment of operations.