The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past years, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our latte-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The following argument is flawed with many reasons in which the argument has failed to give evidences for.

firstly, in the argument, it was stated that the increase in the time devoted for national news has led to cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses. This can not be justified as there are several reasons to cancel an advertising contract. It could be peculiar to the local business in term of their profits and overall performances. The argument has failed to make a logical reason to ascertain this claim.

Secondly, the argument stated that in other to increase advertising revenues, there should be increase in the time devoted to weather and local news. This is also not supported by any fact and it can not hold water because advertising revenue is coming from business that chose to advertise on your program and if there is no profit in their business which is not a function of advertising, the business may choose not to advertise on the program or choose several other means of advertisement. Also, some good percentage of the customers that patronize the business might not have access to television which means they wont be aware of such business, then the business owner would choose to advertise via another medium that could reach their lowest income customers.

Lastly, the argument claimed that in other to attracts more viewers, the time allotted for weather and local news should be restored. There is no correlation between the numbers of viewers and the type of news the program devote more time to. Some viewers might prefer a weather and local news while some might prefer national news or even sport news. This is a conflict of interest among the viewers and each of the viewers is at liberty to choose any program to watch at a particular moment.

Based on the several assumptions made in the argument, the argument is flawed. If the argument can give enough and convincing evidences to support the various fallacies in the argument, then the validity of the argument can be tested.