While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The claim that teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week is based on the data from a survey of high school math and science teachers which shows that in district sanlee, teachers assign daily homework whereas in the district of marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week and the students here earn better grades overall and less likely to repeat year than that of sanlee. such claim is based on assumptions which are needed to be evaluated with evidence before claiming that they are valid.

Firstly, how accurate is the survey? when and how was the survey done? may be it was taken at a time when there was not much students and teachers available to participate in the survey. may be only the teachers of sanlee who give daily homework and the teachers who gives homework less frequently in marlee took part in it. Perhaps the students with good grades and no repeat year were send from marlee to take part in the survey in order to keep the school's reputation. what if it was taken online and only the smart students with good academics have the access to the internet in marlee? Without proper answers of such questions, survey data is unreliable.

Secondly, does earning better grades overall mean the same for the subjects science and math? what if students of marlee has overall better grades but poorer grades in math and science than sanlee? may be the teachers of the courses other than math and science in marlee assigns daily homework? does Samnlee and marlee have similar difficulty level exams? what if sanlee is the more strict school who is famous for passing only the scholars? may be marlee focuses on the reputation of school more than the quality education which is why they are less likely to repeat year to their students. if they are true, such approach is invalid.

Finally, if marlee students focus on individual assignments, would that be equally effective for sanlee students? what if sanlee students are too weak to do individual assignments and that's why they are given daily homework? The answer must contribute to the ultimate decision.

In conclusion, the points mentioned here must be evaluated with credibility before implementing any such approach. there is a possibility that a better solution would come out after poper analusis of the above points.