it is important to keep your old friends than to make new friends

some people believe that making new friends is more important than keeping old friends. However, I disagree with it and believe that keeping old friends are more effective than making new friends. I will support my view point with two reasons.

Firstly, the longer the relationship, the better the trust issues. old friends are the people we know for a long time and with whom we are likely to have spent a long time together. For example, one of my school friends with whom I have been friends with since 5th grade is my best friend. The reason behind the fact is that she has been with me through my thick and thin. she knows the sufferings I had to go through on my worst days and also the celebrations I had on my best days. she is the first one to congratulate and console me at my utmost period. On the other hand, new friends are hard to trust. it takes a certain period of time to know the actual intention of a connection. there are people who pretend to be a friend only to achieve a definite intention. they are not the people who will be there to share the extreme trouble of a friend. In case of an old friends, they are more reliable.

Secondly, old friends are better adviser. they know a person more than a new friend as they have seen the strengths and weaknesses of that person. they are more likely to give the best suggestions as a friend. For instance, when I was confused about my career choice after high school, my best friend from school guided me to the right path which eventually turned out to be the best decision I could ever take. On the contrary, a new friend would be unlikely to lead as a friend as he or she would have a little idea about that person. An old friend wins in this scenario again over a new friend.

In conclusion, the issue whether keeping old friends is better than making new friends or not is complex. some may argue that making new friends is wiser considering the continuous change in life. Nevertheless, I still contend that it is better to keep old friends over the new one.