Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

critics tend to judge a definite work from some fixed criteria which may not always give proper judgment to the work. being an expert in a field does not ensure accuracy in judgment all the time. there are many cases where someone not so expert in a field gives significant judgment to that particular field of work.

judgment varies from one field to another. For example, in academia, experts do hold the position to judge a work as this field is strictly maintained with definite rules and regulations. If a researcher publishes a paper on , say, environmental science, he or she has to present that paper work at the recognised journals and has to be accepted by the jargons of that field. Here an opinion from someone not so expert does not hold water. Same goes for skill based fields like sports where the coach judges the performances of the athletes and designs the game plan accordingly.

On the other hand, fields where skill measurement is not limited in definite rules and regulations, for example, art or Literature, may have good critic from the nonspecialists. Leonardo Da Vinci painted his legendary work "Monalisa" which is widely accepted, be it the specialists from art or common mass who do not have much depth over artistic criticism. Moreover, a piece of art, for instance, an art film, might be criticized by the experts but could be a blockbuster hit for wide appreciation from the viewers. In this case, non experts are contributing in a significant amount of Judgment. The scenario could be up side down where a movie which is highly praised by the experts, could not be commercially hit for not getting enough appreciation, more specifically, being criticized by the viewers.

When experts give judgment over a specific work, there could be conflicts among them. one group may like the work where the other group may not find the work praise worthy. As a consequence, the judgment that hold majority would win. In this case, one group of critics is completely being rejected for their judgment which means there expertness with being critics has nothing to do with the work.

In conclusion, critical judgments from the experts may hold significance for certain cases but not for any or every field. Both the experts and the nonexperts can make valuable critical judgments for many fields.