Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on the campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

The author proposes that Tusk university need to build new sophisticated infrastructure. To support this recommendation, the author explains that it would fulfill current students’ desires. The author’s proposal also relies on the central assumption that it would increase the admission rate of the university. To evaluate whether the recommendation is likely to have its predicted result, we must examine several questions pertaining this assumption of the author’s suggestion.

First, the argument readily assumes that the new facility will make enrollment as twice as current rate over the next decade. This statement is a stretch since the author does not provide any statistical evidence indicating the number of students that has been applied to the university lately. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated that the rate of admission in the last three years or any living examples of other universities applying the same policy.

Second, the argument claims that lack of new recreational facilities is the cause of low enrollment rate. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between building new center and the admission rate. To illustrate, the main problem could lie in industry outcome of graduated students; clearly, job market preparation and career orientation during study period would be the better solutions. If the argument had provided more evidence that how the action might positively affect the current enrollment then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author promises the improvement would bring more benefits without mentioning drawbacks that could happen. Would the new facility negatively affect financial budget of the university for the long-term? Does the author consider any other options for the short-term because a new building requires much time to construct? Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the current conclusion that implementing changes will effectively solve the problem.