Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on the campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

The arguments that more students, especially athletically gifted ones will likely enroll at Tusk University may at first seem compelling and even logical at first glance. However, the author builds up on certain unsupported assumptions to leap from an intelligent guess to a fully formed conclusion. Therefore, the argument is flawed, and unpersuasive.

The idea of Tusk University to build a recreational facility is in itself a factor that should promote its 'student-friendliness'. However, it takes too much of a leap to state that the number of prospective new students that plan to enroll in a university will choose Tusk University specifically for this reason. The author has overlooked the posibility that there could be other universities who either have better recreational facilities coupled with a better teaching staff or a better reputation. When a prospective student is confronted by two universities with similar recreational facilities, but with a disparate learning environment, the student will most probably select the university that offers a better delivery of education.

The author believes that the higher cost of 'out-of-campus' recreation clubs will become a precedence for the students to use the new on-campus facilities. Though this reasoning looks logical, it is not necessarily true. Students could opt to choose recreational clubs outside of the university grounds for other reasons such as consistent openning hours throughout the week, distance to the facility from home and limited crowd as opposed to a university recreation facility. To solidify the author's position, he should find evidence through a research prior to concluding that the new recreational facility will be the first choice of students.

While the author expects the attraction of athletically gifted students, he is once more overlooking an important fact. He fails to mention what sort of facilities the Tusk University's new recreation facility has to offer. Students who are inclined towards ccompetitive sports would seek state-of-the-art sports equipment, sports arenas and facilities when choosing an appropriate sports club. Therefore, unless the author can provide evidence of such state-of-the-art equipment or facilities offered by this new recreational complex, it is unreasonable to expect athletically gifted, if not ordinary students to join the Tusk University.

In conclusion, the author's assertion would have been bolstered if he had presented evidence in favour of the claims he has made. However, with inadequate proof, the audience must be skeptical when acting upon this argument. While it is too extreme to call the author's conclusion as untrue, it is safe however to consider it as a mere conjencture; a conclusion based on limited information. After all, the author's conclusion might infact prove to be true, however, not due to the validity of his assumptions, but due to a latent correlation that the author fails to explain or mention in his argument.