Tusk University should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new student body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and the implications are for the arguments if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s conclusion is that building a new recreation center in Tusk University will bring new students and serve better current students. The author is basing his conclusion on few assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence.

First of all, the author is assuming that there is a strong link between students commuting and inadequacy of existing facilities. This assumption is unconvincing, since there is no clear previous evidence that these two variables have significant correlation. Moreover, the term ‘inadequacy in facilities’ is highly ambiguous. What does inadequacy ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.