The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer recommends the editor of Balmer Island Gazette to limit the numbers of moped rentals during the summer season to prevent accidents. He supports his recommendation with significant results from the neighboring Island Seaville. However, the recommendation relies on assumptions in which there is no clear evidence, therefore the argument is flawed. In order to validate the writer’s recommendation, three questions must be answered.

First, will limiting the number of mopeds decrease the number of accidents? Maybe the reason for accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians are due to unpaved streets, roads and special routes, which engender confusion between drivers and raise the number of accidents. Perhaps, the ministry of transportation has ambiguous rules regarding transporting mopeds and small vehicles. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the recommendation drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, will reducing the number of accidents during the summer season lead to annual reduction in accidents? Not necessarily. What if the increased number of visitors and tourists during the summer lead to higher consumption of bigger transportation means, such as buses and taxies. Perhaps, due to the small number of people in the remaining months of the year, locals tend to drive their mopeds with higher speed and with less caution, and therefore cause more accidents. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the recommendation drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, will limiting the number of mopeds reveal the same results that the neighboring Island of Seaville had last year? The writer is not taking into account several other factors that can differentiate between the two outcomes, such as; timing, population, methods of limitations used, alternatives given etc.. Maybe, in Seaville Island the prohibition of renting exceeded numbers of moped rentals, was valid during the complete four seasons of the year. Possibly, the government in Seaville Island contains better streets and other ways of transportation to encourage their citizens with taking other means to commute and mobilize. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the recommendation drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it currently stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the writer is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that limiting the number of moped rentals will reduce the number of accidents. Unless addition evidence is provided, the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette should find it unconvincing.