Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether changing leadership every five years is the key to successful enterprise. Indisputably, replacing the leader in any private or public company is bringing the company to novel and refreshing approaches and ways to collaborate and bring to meaningful changes. Nevertheless, replacing leadership every five years might lead to adverse effects on any enterprise’s development and productivity. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that leadership should be switched in such a short time, and would argue that for leaders to have true long-term impact, they should stay for longer periods.

First, for meaningful and successful change to happen, every leader must have a “critical” amount of time. This critical time might vary depends on the nature of each company, expectations and requirements. When dealing with influential enterprises such us politics or education, time becomes the worse enemy for leaders who seek to make a difference. Leaders need time, to comprehend the convoluted system, its meaning and its future goals. Sometimes, it take months if not years to be able to build a solid and valuable plan for the upcoming years, needless to mention, to implement.

Furthermore, it is much harder to deduce about the long-term consequences, when leadership changes often. With every new leadership comes a different style of managing, of coping with issues and sometimes a completely new emphasis on how the company should work. For instance, when Donald Trump stepped in, the whole environment of the country and focus on the essential topics has shifted, and many of the previous decisions made by Barack Obama, were changed or put on hold. Today, for example, it is still difficult to estimate if the Obama Care helped or not. Therefore, especially when dealing with nation wise issues, there is a remarkable value of time to apprehend the extent of each considered transformation.

Admittedly, one might say that having people in power for long periods is highly risky and might be dangerous, especially in governmental and educational systems, where irreversible decisions might have unfortunate affects for next generations. Although, this opinion holds some truth, the idea of giving people in power longer periods does not mean leading them to eternal dictatorships. The meaning of longer periods is limited time windows where each leader in power have the sufficient time and opportunity to engender change.

In conclusion, as a society built on the various pillars of powerful institutions, companies and enterprises, there is some risk in any decision we make towards one viewpoint or the other. However, it is crucial to build our future out of trust and hope rather than fear and suspicions. We should trust the people we choose to put in power and give them the chance to learn, plan and use their intelligence and creativity to be able to construct a valued continuous success.