In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Since there has been complaints from residents for years about the river being noisome and recent surveys showed incline of the locals in favoring water sports, the author assertion that cleaning Mason River will bring more use of the river for water sports, and thus recommends the city government to assign more money for the task. While it may seem logical to concur that residents will choose not to pursuit their water activities in a filthy waters, the author’s conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence; therefore, the argument is flawed.

For a starter, the recent announcement of the state, in which it came as a late response to years of complaints, offering plans to clean up Mason River without elaborating on the logistics and ways of operation, does not hold water. What kind of technology will the state use to clean the water? How long will such operation take? And, how much budget and time will the state allocate for such plans. Will cleaning the river waters affect the residents of Mason City economically and environmentally? Has a similar process been done in other cities’ rivers or lakes? Moreover, after years of low maintenance and deterioration in quality of the river’s waters, are such plans applicable?

The data in which the author relies on is ambiguous, since there is no information about the percentage of residents who favor these kinds of water sports, nor the total percentage of residents who initially took the survey. It is highly difficult to generalize from the survey’s sample to the population of Macon City. Perhaps, only a total of 20% of the residents actually took the survey, which out of them only 5% stated they favor these kinds of water sports. That would mean the conclusion is based on misrepresentation and over generalization of the data given. Moreover, if the content of the survey has been perceived as discussing further solutions to the current issues in riverside recreational activities in Mason River, then the survey might be a prime for residents to think water sports are within their favorite activities.

Assuming the majority of the locals actually filled the survey, and most of those participants, ranked water sports as one of their favorite, is this ranking sufficient to actually want to practice those sports in Mason River? Without citing evidence in support of his this position, the author is in fact inaccurate to draw such statement. Residents of Macon City might prefer to swim in pools where they are less exposed to be swept away by the river stream. Also, we cant tell if the river has fish, so fishing in the river is not certain as well. These possibilities weaken the author’s assumption in the original argument.

In conclusion, the assertion as it currently stands is incredibly flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the questions above and offer more convincing evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the conclusion that cleaning Mason River will lead to an increase of use of the river for water sports. Unless additional evidence is provided, the residents of Mason City for the argument should find it unconvincing.