To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether we can understand society’s most important characteristics solely by learning its major cities. Indisputably, major cities are the biggest in terms of their populations. Nevertheless, major cities’ unique lifestyle, behavioral and mental patterns are not sufficient to be generalized over the whole society. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that it can be concluded from major cities toward the whole society, and would argue that there are other sources of data to be explored in order to understand the society’s most important characteristics.

First, major cities and smaller cities lifestyles are considerably different from one another. I would like to point out that major cities residents had developed a unique patterns of conduct, mental processes and ways of coping with life circumstances that are quite different from how rural and smaller cities’ residents cope. To illustrate, let us look at the example of relationships. In this circumstance, residents in major cities might have less traditional perception and desire of long-term commitment in relationships. Unlike people in smaller cities, singles in major cities feel less obligated to get married and start a family at young age or even at all. The same goes to having children, or pursuing education, women’s role in the society, etc. Consequently, it is reasonably obvious that it is unlikely to rely on such specific sources to understand the overall society.

Furthermore, if studying major cities alone is enough to comprehend most important features of a society, then we have great deal of misrepresentation of the general population. Both common sense and personal experience have told us that most of the society’s population are to be found in rural and suburban areas. Hence, for us to understand most important features in a society we must take into consideration other populated cities of all kinds.

Admittedly, important characteristics in a society such as developed technology, high education and economy are more common in major cities. This is true especially when it comes to education, where kids in major cities grow up in competitive and austere environments and gain their education in equipped, top-notch schools, for most of these children getting into high competitive educational institutions is an unquestionable plan. In addition, major cities are well connected internationally, thus bringing broad investments and collaborations, which lead to prosperity in their economy. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim the society’s most important characteristics are only the mentioned above. Since it is not taking into account other crucial features of a society such as equality, humanitarian services, justice, diversity and fair opportunity. All of which, can be found in minor cities as well.

In conclusion, although studying major cities clarifies important characteristics of a society, studying them alone is not sufficient to understand the complete picture. As long as some measurements are performed, or some areas are involved, major cities can be high sources for studying society’s major features. Yet, it would be more efficient to learn additional minor cities as well, then it would be fair to infer to the whole society.