The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super-Screen produced movies that any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not which the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Scree movie Production Company, is claiming that in past year, there is lower rates of attendence to Super Screen-movies. However, since the percentage of the positive reviews has increased, he concludes that the attendence issue is not due to the quality of movies, rather it is because of less exposure to availability of such movies. Therefore, the director recommends allocating greater share of next year budget to advertising. The director's conclusion relies on assumptions which there is no clear evidence and therefore the argument is flawed. In order to be able to validate the conclusion, three questions must be answered.

First, is the increase in precentage of positive reviews this year reflects a significant increase that might affect the puplic opinion? the director never cited evidence to support this position. Perhaps, the increse in the 'precentage' of positive reviews is so little in comparison to the many other significanlty higher numbers of negative reviews. Or maybe, the higher precentage in positive reviews got higher this year in many other movies, which makes this increase with slightly lower affects. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significanly weakened.

Furthermore, does the reviews from these movie reviewrs have an impact on people's movie attendence? Perhaps, many individuals read those reviews, but prefered to read more 'authentic' real views written by other people, and their feedback was less apealing. Maybe, they were exposed to less positive views by close friends', family members, co-workers and opinions of other amature critics on social media, who they percieved as more objective than movie viewers. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significanly weakened.

Finally, is less attendence to the Super Screen movies is due to lack of exposure to the quality of these movies? Maybe, there is simply lower rates of watching movies during this year in general, because of many reasons such as; financial reasons, environmental, weather issues, or just a matter of preference to spend time outside the movie theater. Perhaps, many individuals prefer to watch other types of movies. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significanly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands is considerably flawed due to its relience on several unwarranted assumptions. If the advertising director is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic study or survey, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viabilty of the conclusion that the decrease in attendence to Super Screen-produced movies is due to the lack of awarness that good quality movies are available. Unless additional evidence is provided, the readers of this memo should find it unpersuasive.