Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the governments’ funding impact the integrity of arts. Indisputably, for some, arts are perceived as the hobby or occupation of the privileged, since it is time consuming and usually does not account for providing sustainable income. Therefore, arts are not available to all people. Nevertheless, arts are highly fundamental in maintaining the society’s sanity, development and freedom of speech. Despite the opinion, that governments’ financial support might be crucial in making arts available for all people, I generally believe it might actually affect the arts integrity and in fact limits it to flourish.

First, one of the main arts’ principles and roles is being able to reflect societal, cultural and political norms and issues freely. Being social animals, we are usually influenced by others’ opinions, expectations and relations. When governments finance the arts, those who engage with art such as; different independent artists, art institutions, and art departments in universities, might be influenced and biased in favor of the government. Since art is based on reflecting one’s opinions and point of views independently from political influences and societal expectations, governmental funding to arts might lead to conflict of interest.

Furthermore, art is used as a tool to criticize the governments and political actions both nationally and internationally. We have witnessed artist all over the world who used their arts’ as a platform to point out problematic and ambiguous ways of the government to deal with humanitarian crisis. Frida Khalo, Picasso and Leonardo da Vinci are few examples for artists who spoke of women’s roles, social justice and human inequality. Today we can witness many more artist who post vulgar and blunt images and works of art to raise the awareness to the denial governments have for global warming, the decreased interest of solving humanitarian crisis in Africa and the governments’ unnecessary decisions of going to wars. If artist accept money for such governments, they may feel obligated to sweeten up the reality.

Admittedly, one might say that most people who are drawn to arts are introverted persons, who usually believe in expressing their ideas and principles regardless of whose support they are having. Although this opinion might hold some truth, when accepting the help of others, artists like most human being might find it hard and puzzling to maintain such influential and vulgar works of art, and may take a more subtle ways of expression. Unfortunately, we are not sure how far this subtle and polite art might get and their degree of making an impact.

In conclusion, although funding the arts is so crucial in enhancing its availability and might aide in its thriving, governments’ economical support for the arts might be controversial and engender complicated consequences. Therefore, for the government to able to support such institutions and individuals, both parties should seek for methods and ways to maintain the arts objectivity and independently out of the governments’ influence.