Progress should be the aim of any great society. People too often cling unnecessarily to obsolete ways of thinking and acting because they enjoy feeling comfortable and fear the unknown.

Along with accepting modernity, there is also adopting the new ways technology is offering us. Societies who are in progress came to realize, that for a society to prosper, it needs to be a part of the international net of technological innovations. Taking part in this net, has countless benefits and positive influences such as; economical profits; being connected and being part of the world development and changes; adding international value to the society in its foreign affairs; helping individuals in the society to be more productive and knowledgeable, etc.. The simplest example for how a society who adapt new technology and progress is of a tremendous input to the society as a whole is to see how technology influences the basic element in society: family. Today, families who use technology save more time to spend on other, even more important things, such as; work, education and raising kids. Another great example; is the academic development. Combining technology with school brought up to a great acceleration in understanding new sources of knowledge and revealing new fields of study.

Holding up to old-fashioned ways of thinking and of behavior could seem the safest way for any society to maintain itself. Even as individuals, we find it extremely difficult to change our old habits and daily routines, even when we know that they might have adverse influence on our lives. Yet, the notion of great societies, who have not done any changes or went through any challenges, sounds somewhat absurd. If we read carefully, and search the main pillars for societies’ greatness, we will come to see the most developed, rich and prosper societies are those who had a progress.

One of the main keys to prosper and developed society actually is to abjure some parts of its tradition, and seek to accept modernity to serve the society for better upcoming generations. One might think that what hold every culture’s uniqueness is its tradition. Tradition has served society for years and is in the nuances of the behaviors, attitudes, language, and costumes people of the same society acquire. Traditions have served society to preserve existential actions, to help with the survival of the society, but life changes made these traditional actions not of a help anymore. It is for this exact reason that some parts of the societies’ traditions should be changed. Unfortunately, these parts of tradition are still abused by people who are afraid of modernity, and looking for ways to hinder progress that might bring any change. Therefore, societies who choose to accept modernity, its traditions has changed according to it, and instead of using tradition as an excuse, those societies used modern thinking to combine useful aspects of tradition and forward it to next generations. Hence, allowing the development of the society.

The world is in constant change, like it has always been. The question remains; do we want to embrace this change and combine it into our true and special identity? Or do we want to keep lingering to our old times, as we watch other nations arise? It is clear which option brings greatness to societies, which brings scientist and pioneers to break the chain of their realities and search for better ways to understand and live a better life. The choice that builds great empires and strong nations, where they give opportunities to the voice of change and progress.

These are few examples of many about how progress, development and change have great impacts on society. Yet, someone may suggest that seeking for continuous change, may lead us to lose our identity as individuals and therefore as a society. Although there is some true to this assumption, where lately we can see that the world has got closer and societies have a lot in common than before, the fear of getting lost is irrelevant and rather exaggerated, not to mention it is one of the basic origins to why we unnecessarily hold to our obsolete and ancient ways.