The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The homeowner has concluded that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty. He based his conclusion on several observations regarding both agent’s staff number and working hours, revenues and previous experiences with both Adams and Fitch Realities regarding their selling speed. However, it seems that the conclusion relies on assumption on which there is no clear evidence, therefore, the argument is flawed.

First, the homeowner assumes the higher the revenue the more successful and superior the real estate company is. However, maybe Fitch Realty initially started as a small business, therefore it contains less real estate agents and provides less working hours, such possibility contradict the assertion regarding its low quality. In addition, maybe the revenue can be calculated differently when taking into account both the staff members number and the working hours in total. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, the author is assuming that the fact of less real estate agents who work part-time is a proof that Fitch Realty is inferior to Adams. Nevertheless, Fitch small staff and flexible schedule might boost his agents’ creativity, effort and loyalty to work. Characters that are fundamentally essential in successful work environments. Many studies have shown that companies’ general productivity, is less linked to hours of working, but has strong relationship with the quality of work per hour. Perhaps, in Adams Realty where 40 real estate agents have full time job, they eventually produce less per agent than in Fitch Realty. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Last, the homeowner based his conclusion on previous experiences with both agencies regarding the selling speed for houses he owned. However, the homeowner has not enough evidence to support his position. Maybe, Adams sold his house faster because the market a year ago was more interested and flexible in buying/selling houses than 10 years ago when Fitch sold his another house. If the homeowner did his homework about history of selling houses, he would have found that 10 years ago there was an economic crisis in the country. Or maybe, Fitch took longer to sell his house because it was less attractive than the one sold by Adams. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened

In conclusion, the conclusion as it currently stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the homeowner is able to offer further evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the proposed conclusion that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty. Unless additional evidence is provided, his friend and people who want to sell their houses should find this argument unconvincing.