Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether governments should invest money in major cities to help them thrive. Indisputably, the government should invest its money nation wise and distribute its finances equally. However, major cities are bigger in size and population, they encompass variety of people, attract tourism, and most if not all of the powerful and influential institutions of the country are placed in major cities. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that governments should hold their support for major cities, and would argue that for main cities to thrive educationally, culturally and economically, they need high financial help from the government.

First, whether we consider thriving educationally, psychologically or socially, environmentally or technologically, financial support is the main key to engender change. For example, we have witnessed how major cities around the world have thrived, when governmental initiations held place in empowering their educational systems. Finland, is one of those countries who has put their highest efforts and financial emphasis to build systematic longitudinal studies and broad research. For years, important questions regarding the flaws in their system have been raised. The huge collaboration between the government, education system and team of researchers later enriched the country’s educational institutions with the right methods and principles. As a result, Finland’s educational system today is considered one of the best in the world, and is ranked as the highest successful educational systems in the western countries.

Furthermore, from Dubai to Beijing, New York to Moscow, governments’ economical investments are bringing them to rapidly thrive and draw global interest and attraction economically and technologically. We have witnessed this phenomenon in the inevitable change that the United Arab Emirates and especially Dubai has gone through. With its skyscrapers emerging to be the highest in the world and its huge attraction to global investments in business and tourism.

Admittedly, some may say that major cities are shifting from traditional orientation to more liberal-universal approach and way of living. Especially in light of the changing technology, higher exposure to multicultural education and greater rates of tourism in the cities has changed their traditional focuses. However, it may seem that major cities are infused with many people of varying levels of cultural traditions; it is still difficult to assert that its cultural and traditional structure has fully diminished. In fact, many major cities focus their attention in highlighting traditional events and amplifying its emphasis into the city’s daily life. For example, in holidays, many major cities open the opportunity for its locals to engage in activities and events that preserve the traditional elements of its culture.

In conclusion, although major cities have wider open gates to globalization and multiculturalism, such cities still withhold the importance of its cultural costumes and traditions. In addition, major cities are highly important in so many aspects for the country and the nation as a whole, and supporting them financially might significantly help them thrive and evolve.