The commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in Freedonia society: incomes are rising; most employees now receive more vacation time; and interest in travel is rising, as shown by an increase in media attention devoted to foreign cultures and tourist attraction.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the past three years, the commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced substantial growth, and the author predicts this growth will continue in the upcoming years. The author based his or her prediction upon the recent economical and lifestyle changes in Freedonia society. However, in order to validate the author’s prediction, three questions must be answered.

First of all, does the rising incomes lead the residents of Freedonia to use more often the commercial airline industry? The raise in salaries might lead to different outcomes and reactions by people. Perhaps, with the raise in incomes, people will invest more money in mortgage, buy a new car or even add it to their savings. People might pay accumulated bills or loans or invest their money in small businesses. In the Freedonia country, different people might have diverse reactions. If not one of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction of the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do employees use their vacation time to travel via commercial airline industry? In other words, once employees receive their vacation time, does it necessarily used to fly elsewhere? Maybe employees use their vacations to spend time with their families in Freedonia. Alternatively, perhaps, since they are getting more vacation time, they prefer to travel elsewhere using other modes of transportation (taking a road trip via RV or car). If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, is there a correlation between increased attention to tourist attraction in the media and increased interest in travel? The author’s assertion that the high interest in travel is linked to high attention in media to foreign cultures and tourist attraction. However, we are not sure if this assertion has been validated by the appropriate research and methodology. In addition, the great attention in the media to tourist places and foreign cultures might be due to the attractiveness of this subject, and the urge of the media to broadcast such content of high popularity to get better ranking. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the prediction, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer these three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic study) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed prediction that the growth in the past three years in the industry of commercial airline will continue in the years to come. Unless additional evidence is provided, neither the residents of Freedonia nor other readers for the argument should find it unpersuasive.