The commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in Freedonian society: incomes are rising; most employees now receive more vacation time; and interest in travel in rising, as shown by an increase in media attention devoted to foreign cultures and tourist attractions.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument that Freedonia’s commercial airline industry will continue to grow may seem logical at first glance. Nevertheless, the author relies on unsupported assumptions about the indicators of a growth in air travelers. Consequently, the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the writer establishes no correlation between the increase in incomes or vacation time and the rise in people’s desire to travel. The writer also presumes that emerging tourists would travel via air instead of other methods of transportation. If an organization were to conduct a survey on people who received a raise or more vacation time, and ask whether they made plans to travel in the next twelve months, it would confirm whether the correlation between increase in incomes or vacation time and the rise in people’s desire to travel exists. Additionally, If the author could indeed demonstrate that the emergent travelers are more likely to choose a flight over other modes of transportation, the argument would be considerably more plausible.

Additionally, the writer fails to provide the link between an increase in media attention and a rise in travelling interest. Perhaps companies from the tourist industry observed that people are becoming disinterested in foreign destinations, and the media broadcast was a marketing technique to improve the current situation. Furthermore, an interest in foreign cultures and destinations does not guarantee that people are planning on travelling; they could be simply intrigued by learning about an unfamiliar country overseas. The notion that a rise in travelling interest equates a growth in the tourist industry would be strengthened by answering the question: Are trends revealing an strong interconnection between media attention and the proceeding actions of people? Among the Freedonians with the highest curiosity regarding foreign countries, what percent can afford to travel aboard by air at least once per year? Without ruling out alternative explanations for the growth of media attention in tourism, the argument would not be persuasive.

In conclusion, the writer is not necessarily mistaken in stating that the growing trend in Freedonia’s commercial airline industry will continue. After all, an impressive growth has been observed in the past three years. Nonetheless, to support the assertion that the airline industry will continue to prosper, the author must submit more conclusive evidence that an increase in income, vacation time, and media attention will, in fact, result in greater number of air travellers. Without such substantiation, stakeholders in the commercial airline industry, such as investors, should be skeptical about the prediction that Freedonia’s commercial airline industry will continue to expand.