The Commercial airline industry in the country of Freedonia has experienced impressive growth in the past three years. This trend will surely continue in the years to come, since the airline industry will benefit from recent changes in Freedonian society:

The writer states that, following the increase of the past three years, the airline will keep growing economically for many years in future.

The argument relies on assumptions that are unstated, but could easily weaken it, if proven wrong.

First of all, the writer make predictions on the economically favorable condition that has made the fortune of the airlines in the past years. In the lucky scenario he is depicting, he is not accounting for unlucky events that could actually not only stop the positive trend, but totally arrest or even drop it. For example, an unexpected terroristic flight attack could make the population of Freedonia feel unsafe on using air transportation to move or travel.

But without thinking to something so tragic, the author sounds the argument upon changing in the social society that actually, if proven wrong, could destroy his position. We are not told how much the incomes have increased, but only that they had. Hence those increased could not be sufficient to allow for travel; even easier, workers could simply decided to invest their salaries in other activities (sports or education) or in the construction market, only to make an example.

Moreover, he is implying that longer vacation time means an extension of the time spent travelling. I can pick my personal experience to prove why this argument is weak: when I was a child, my parents used to have two months of vacation from work, but still we were spending just 2 week on “holiday to the seaside”, the rest of the time we were staying home, resting after the intense year.

Lastly, he used the increased interest of the public to media showing other countries and tourist attraction. While the latter could be favorable to the argument if proven right (still, we don’t know statistics on how much the interest in those programs has increased), the former one is certainly not solid: an increased interest in other cultures could just mean a change in the perception of other in a growing multicultural society.

Hence, in conclusion, the assumptions the author is making sound logical, but with a deeper inspection, they don’t persuade me and actually weaken the argument and could cause the failure of the industry if, for example, relying on them the company decides to make huge investments.