True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

I don’t agree with the statement that the goals that one set to oneself are a good way to measure success. The main reason for my disagreement is that there are actually different way of identify someone successful, primarily because there are many different ideas of what success actually is.

The word “success” derives from the Latin word “succedere”, that means to go beyond. This linguistic explanation is important to define what exactly success is and how to measure it properly. The statement claims that being successful is setting a goal, but the ethimology of the word itself closely resemble what I believe success is: the surpassing of the limit that one could have posed to oneself during a specific stage of life.

In standard situations, it would be hard for an humble person defines himself successfull, moreover the concept of success, that in my opinion equals the idea of self-realization, is a traguard that normally is reached only at older age, when looking behind your shoulders to see what it has been done during an entire life and which consequences those achivements have left behind.

Still,to have completed all the sort of requirements that one could have set to oneself during the path of life is not infallible in measuring someone’s true success, for example if the goal set was damaging to someone else somehow.

Let’s imagine that the goal was to become a worldwide expert in biological weapons developer. Achieving the target in this discipline despite the safety of others wouldn’t mean be truly successful.

Moreover, the idea of success itself can changed during a lifetime, because in the entire process of growing up is implicit a change of mind about many concepts like future job, life, love, and family.

Hence, in conclusion, I believe that true success should be measured by the self-realization that one could feel personally, rather that the setting of a goal, because there are many influencing factors that can change in a life time and upon which the first reach point has been set.