The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

The claim makes a distinction between general welfare of the inhabitants of the nation and the goals that those people achieve in different fields, from politics to arts or science. Even if I believe that those aspects of a society shouldn’t be separate, having to take a position, I would say that greatness of a nation can be better identify in the achievement in the social sciences, STEM or politic disciplines.

It’s easier to explain my position thinking about societies and countries in the past, and as examples I want to draw attention on the great civilizations that were established from the Egyptians time to the Roman one. About the Egyptians, we remember this civilization as a formidable example for its complex system of religion, with the many gods and believes, its advances in building the monuments that tourists still visit today, and its complex writing style with the use of geroglyphs that have puzzled archeologists and linguists for decades before the discovery of Rosetta.

If the Egypt of the Pharaoh can be use to prove the greatness of a nation through the arts, we can name the Greek of the V century as a symbol of greatness for their politics ability and the invention of the very first form of democracy: just remember that the ruler Pericle and his speech to the Atenians are still an important reading and lecture in many different academic field and has been translated in more than 40 different languages. Similarly their discoveries in Science, especially in the Medicine fields have made the History; Hyppocrates, for example, has become immortal through the his vows that every physician has to repeat when graduate after MD school as symbol of belonging to the class of the “healing people”.

The last example I want to use to support my point of view is the Roman civilizations, worldwide recognized as the one that best represent the features needed to preserve the unity of country made up from different populations each with its own traditions and believes. The greatness of the roman republic first, and Empire then, was indeed this strong sense of belonging to the Great Roman Empire that the ruling class was been able to convey deeply to every social layers.

It is also important to say that every country and civilization that I have delineate as great for some aspect of their arts, sciences or politics has also many negative drawbacks: one could name slavery, that was an usual and social accepted practice during the Roman times, or the idea of human sacrifices during for the Egyptians.

Also the fact that we are referring to delimitate and restricted sectors of the social pyramids of that time, as privileged portions of the nation and not as a whole could be a challenging point against our idea.

In response to this assertion, I would like to focus on a contemporary nation that is commonly defined great and named symbol to others for different reasons: the United States. USA are more often seen as great nation because of the idea of freedom, the country of “all-the-possibilities”, but a deeper insight reveals that the welfare conditions for which they are admired worldwide are not for everyone neither. Infact the health system is private and not accessible to everyone, the higher levels of education are expensive and restricted to whom can afford the pricey tuitions of the universities, there are many individuals who are living below the threshold of poverty, and in many states the death penalty is still allowed and practiced.

Nonteheless, America will be always remembered as a great nation, and the “American Dream” will always exist.

In conclusion, even if probably the welfare of the people from a country would be a better indicator of its greatness, as in the past as in the future, the achievements in the broad fields of arts, sciences and politics will consecrate nations to History defining them as great.