The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country."The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked

The vice president of the company building shopping malls is more persuaded that assign the job of the construction their access roads to Appian Roadways, instead of the Good Intentions Roadways, would be a better deal.

He recommend to incaricate the former with the prediction that their works will last at least four years. Even if he adduces some good reasons for his belief, there are still some unspoken questions that should be address.

First of all, he compares the conditions of two different Routes which have been completed by the competitors. He reports that one is versing in very bad and dangerous condition for drivers, while the other, that has a double age compared to Route 40, is still in good working shape. The question the VP is not asking is exactly why the conditions are so different amongst the streets; we are not told if the sites weather conditions of the Routes are not identical, but at least the same. To my knowledge, asphalt in cold climate, like the one that is faced at very high latitudes, is prone to get deteriorations due to the snow and ice covers that sits on the material, corroding it. A more favorable climatic condition could have help the preservation of one route despite the other.

Secondly, it could be a matter of the type of traffic travelling on this route. Heavy trucks, for example, are more likely to cause damages to streets. Hence, he should ask the company experts to check which type, if more car-like weights or truck-like one used to run on them.

In fact, an answer to it would help evaluating the recommendation.

Lastly, it is mainly a matter of costs. The VP should check the quality of the materials and the founds invested in the realizations of both the streets. He should also ask for a preview of the costs of roads constructions compared to the maintenance ones, because he could discover to be more convenient for his company to pay for the latter instead of invest more money in the beginning of the project.

At the very end, he sounds his recommendation on the information of the new acquired paving machine and new quality control manager. Still, he is apparently not inform about the reasons for this two new acquisitions: the first one could be simply because the old machine broke and needed to be changed (carefully, they didn’t buy a new one, but a state-of-the art one), and second there are no details about what should the quality control check, and it would not necessarily be the roads themselves.

In conclusion, while the recommendation the Vice president is coherent with the idea of looking for the best company, the motivations upon he funds it need more answers to unspoken questions.