The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing is recommending building a new number of dorms in Buckingham College. He is basing his recommendation on the assumption that students’ enrollments will increase over the next 50 years. Moreover, the increasing raise in the appartments’ rents will engender more students to look for dorms. The editor’s conclusion relies on assumptions on which there is no clear evidence and therefore the argument is flawed.

First, the director is assuming that the trend of growing enrollment will continue over the next 50 years. However, the director never cited evidence to support his position. Perhaps, the growing trend will stop in the upcoming years. Maybe, if the director has shows statistical evidence of how this trend is predicted to continue, then it will be more convincing to validate his conclusion.

Furthermore, the director is assuming that students will not be able to afford more expensive housing off-campus. However, the director did not have any data or research indicating or exploring the reasons behind the raise in off-campus appartments’ rates. Perhaps, the reason of this raise is due to more renting by students in recent years. Maybe students choose to live in off-campus regardless of the economical factors. If these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, the director is assuming that when admitting to new colleges, prospective students will base their decision on the attractiveness of new dormitories. However, if the director has offered for more evidence and widen his research, he might have found many more other factors that can be more important and detrimental in determining one’s future school, such as the quality of the departments, quality of research and study, and faculty’s rating.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director of the student housing will be able to offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation that Buckingham college should build new dormitories. Unless additional evidence is provided, the readers of this memo should find it unpersuasive.