Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the educational system must play a role in determining one’s future educational choices. Indisputably, educational institutions can understand and observe the student up closely. Nevertheless, these institutions should not putt off student’s desires and motivation to pursue a particular field of study. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that the responsibility of dissuading students from achieving their educational goals, should be within the educational institutions, and would argue that the educational system should not intervene in their students’ choices.

First, peoples’ personalities, traits, behavior and intelligence are changeable and always dynamic as they grow and in reactance to environmental demands and needs. For example, we would not expect the same reactions and way of thinking from a 13 years old adolescent to be similar to his or her reactions when he/she was in first grade. Similarly, the case with intelligence, research in validating different intelligence and IQ tests has shown that as they age, people get smarter, their common knowledge is broader and their attention gets better. For that reason, schools and universities should believe in their students’ process and help them fulfill their full potentials in every step of the way.

Second, educational systems’ roles are not solely defined in teaching new terms and knowledge, but to be an insparational place for students to evolve, to build character, and to have widen their interest. Institutions should be based on principles of growth and hard work, motivation and positivity. Educational institutions, encounter thousands of students every year, who are emerging from diverse realities and mentalities, and dreaming to become significant individuals in the society. Educational systems should embrace them, not discourage them.

Finally, opposite opinions of this matter would raise the fact that some students’ dreams and goals are not in accordance with their capacities, therefore educational systems as being part of society should address those students and mold them to fit societal needs and expectations. Although this opinion has some valid points, the question remains is what kind of society are we looking to build? A society with broken and raged persons, who feel the world had turn its back to, or a society where individuals feel they have fulfilled their whole potential and perceive themselves as capable and part of an encouraging and empowering culture.

In conclusion, for educational systems to lead students for better and compatible options in academic studies, it could be a place where different options are presented to fit the student’s personality, abilities, traits and conditions, but never abuse its power to shut down whatever hope relies within each student. In fact, leading students to understand better themselves and the academic subjects that are most suitable for their ambitions, would lead to best outcomes individually and socially.