The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities

Most politicians encounter various issues like; environmental problems, territorial disputes, economical issues, humanitarian crisis and many more challenges, both domestically and internationally. Clearly, some of which has great impact not only on the quality of peoples’ lives but also and more importantly on their lifespan. Therefore, facing those monumental challenges is the main pillar on the greatness of any political leader.

There is no doubt that having inherent abilities and qualities is very important for any person who has responsibilities and challenges to face. Nevertheless, it is not a sufficient factor to determine the quality of leadership of a politician. Most of us can recall politicians who are having tremendous abilities to be very successful businesspersons, innovators and pioneers in their field, yet when started engaging in politics, their judgment became very poor and their decision-making turned to be completely obscure.

Great leaders are remembered for their actions. Being able to leave an imprint in our world is something to look up to in a leader, and a true leader can only accomplish this by enduring reality and being able to confront tangled problems that has great influence on all of us. Interesting character, high skills and great abilities might be great indicators for impressing talks, strategies and plans, but they are not satisfactory for true leadership in politics.

One may say that having inherent qualities and skills will secure a leader with more innovation and creativity in addressing varied challenges. However, political challenges are different; they are extremely puzzling, often ambiguous and sometimes requires audacious actions. Therefore, it is not enough to have skills, but the exact means to be able to solve and face those puzzles. Leaders who face challenges know how to handle those conditions, as they are already equipped with these basic and most important traits.

There were times in history where leaders faced considerable challenges that changed the face of world to this day. Abraham Lincoln who broke the chains of slavery, Franklin Roosevelt whose decision to react to the attack in Pearl Harbor and intervene in World War II, and many more leaders’ actions are part of a long list of significant leaders of all times, where they let their actions delineate and define their personality and who they really are.