Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether scandals are useful, since they are engaging our attention better than speakers or activists. Indisputably, scandals can be deleterious and raise unpleasant and concerning stories to our consciousness. Nevertheless, scandals can be a crucial part of our society in maintaining justice, high awareness, critical thinking and healthy judgment. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that scandals are not useful, and would argue that scandals could serve our society, especially the weaker classes, in maintaining its transparency and justice.

First, people tend to relate more to real time instances and relevant news than to theories or stories that happened in the past. Scandals bring a realistic example of something that actually is happening and can affect us as a society. When people in power are exposed of stealing, lying or cooperating in collusions to get to personal interests, scandals of such deviant conducts, bring the society to feel betrayed and abused. Such feelings are immediate and bring people to think more of how these actions are related to their well being and daily routines.

Furthermore, once they are publicized, scandals can be used to raise the right questions. Beyond all the blaming and ridicule publicity of the subjects engaging in the unlawful actions, individuals of the society start contemplating and reflecting of how such behaviors were engendered. Figuring the reasons, as well as learning and concluding from the consequences, helps the society to further decrease corruption and falsehood happening underneath their noses. In addition, revealing the truth, gives people a feeling of transparency and justice, as well as a sense of capability and belonging to a society where they have an input.

Admittedly, one can claim that the press, as well as other opposing politicians can overuse this method (scandals) to erode specific targeted subjects. This is true, especially in the light of modern technology and social media, where some politicians and influential public figures use their popularity to conspire against and try to witch hunt opposing parties. However, most of the reported scandals unfortunately turn out to be true, and the sparse canard ones do not delegitimize the power of scandals when they reveal true facts.

In conclusion, although there is a growing tendency in using scandals as a method to weaken powerful individuals in society, scandals usually bring important information and useful facts to the surface. As long as people do not use scandals for only shaming others, but actually learn and draw the right conclusions, scandals can be very useful in addressing and dealing with problems.