The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Central Plaza store owners believe that the increased number of skateboarders has led to the little interest in shopping in the plaza. Moreover, they predict that business will thrive if skateboarding is prohibited in the plaza. However, their conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence, therefore the argument is flawed. To validate the owners’ prediction, three questions should be answered.

First, is there a significant link between increased numbers of skateboarders and decreased number of shoppers? the Central Plaza store owners has no suffecient evidence to support their belief regarding the relationship between skateboarders and shoppers. it seems they are not taking into account other possibilities that can influence their shops. Maybe, the lessen interest in shopping is due to deterioration in economy in the country. Or perhaps, they city council has opened another mall or shopping building in the same neighborhood. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, are skateboarders responsible of the damage and vandalism in the plaza? Not nessecceraly, actually, maybe the fact that there are less buyers in the stores, led to the building becoming empty and neglected and therefore prone to more vandalism and defacing actions from passing vandalisms. Or, there is a protest against the Central Plaza stores for being too expensive or not being environmentally friendly, and as part of their antagonism, protestors conducted damaging reactions in the building. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, are places with high numbers of skateboarders attract less buyers and shoppers? the owners has no base to support this assumption. In fact, most skateboarders are young in age and known to have specific taste in music, clothing, and equippment. All of which are included in a unique lifestyle that most probably engender them to consume more. In addition, having been in a skateboarding group actually attracts many other teenagers and young adults to engage in social encounters, one of which is going to the mall together. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the owner is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in a form of a systematic study or a broad poll), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the prediction that skateboarding prohibition in the Plaza Center will lead to increase in shopping as it previously was. Unless additional evidence is provided, the editor for the argument should find it unpersuasive.