"Tusk university should build a new recreational facility, both to attract new students and to better serve the needs of our current student body. Tusk projects that enrollment will double over the next 10 years, based on current trends. The new school body is expected to reflect a much higher percentage of commuter students than we currently enroll. This will make the existing facilities inadequate. Moreover, the cost of health and recreation club membership in our community has increased rapidly in recent years. Thus, students will find it much more advantageous to make use of the facilities on campus. Finally, an attractive new recreation center would make prospective students, especially athletically gifted ones, more likely to enroll at Tusk"

Write a response that examines this argument's unstated assumptions. Make sure you explain how

this argument depends on those assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions are

wrong.

The argument that building a new recreational facility will attract future students and benefit the current students is a fair argument. However, the author of this argument does not adequately support his points and makes assumptions that are questionable without sufficient evidence. In order for this argument to be convincing, the author must address his states and unstated assumptions to convince the audience that he is correct.

The first assumption the argument makes is that the enrollment in Tusk University will continue to rise based on current trends. This is a fair assumption to make, as trends can be used to predict the future, however trends are not completely reliable. For the author to depend on an increasing to trend to predict future enrollment in Tusk University, the author will need to analyze what is causing this trend. Maybe Tusk received funding for a new research lab or built a new student center on campus. In these cases, it is likely that enrollment will continue. However, maybe Tusk recently lowered its admission rates or had to lay off a proportion of the math department due to decreased funding. These factors would likely decrease enrollment rates. Thus it is important that the author considers the cause of the increasing trend and any factors that could alter it, if the author wants to cite this as convincing evidence.

The author further assumes that new and current students care about receiving a new recreational facility. It may be possible that the current recreational facility is hardly used by its students, in which case building a new one is unlikely to cause a significant spike in its usage. In fact, if Tusk is lacking in other areas important to a higher education institute such as its quality of professors or its scholarship awards, then it is possible that its students will reject the building of a new recreational facility if they feel that there exist more important areas to improve upon first. Furthermore, the author assumes that new students will be attracted to a new recreational facility. However, if a prospective student feels that Tusk is lacking in areas that are fundamental, then it is unlikely that a new recreational facility will sway him to enroll in Tusk. Thus, the author must ask the student body if it would want a new recreational facility, especially since the student body would be funding this. Moreover, it would also be wise to ask prospective students if they would use the recreational facility to gauge the interest in the facility.

Finally, the author assumes that Tusk University is an appealing school to athletes. Since a recreational facility would most likely appeal to those who are more athletic, it is reasonable to consider their opinion when building the new facility. However, if Tusk has a shortage of coaches or if Tusk had to recently cut some of its athletic funding, it is unlikely that athletes will seriously consider Tusk if other schools are better suited to fit an athlete’s needs. Furthermore, it is likely that prospective athletes will put a lot of weight on the scholarship schools will offer their student athletes. If Tusk offers very little scholarship money in comparison to other schools, it is also likely that student athletes will avoid Tusk. Thus, it is important to consider if Tusk is appealing to athletes.

The author attempts to claim that building a new recreational facility will increase future student enrollment and appeal to its current student body. However, this claim is based on faulty logic that must be addressed to hold true.