Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

With the advancement of technology shaping our everyday lives, it comes at no surprise that platforms designed originally to connect friends online have begun to alter our interactions in the real world. Seeing as politics is a hot topic for debate, it is inevitable that social media platforms and the emergence of the online "blogosphere" has changed the way discourse ensues. Some people believe that this engagement of social media with politics is detrimental to political discourse and will lower the standards for political topics in the news. However, it seems that social media cannot be the culprit of such a blame and is merely enhancing how we connect with others and share our thoughts and opinions on political issues.

The claim cites as reason that if more people can publish political opinions due to the ease at which this is perfomed via social media, then the standards upheld for news reporters on covering these topics will subsequently decline. Although this is not faulty reasoning, this reasoning appears to miss the point of discourse as a whole. Keeping political discourse reserved to news reporters and other qualified individuals limits the potential for other points of view that can provide insightful thoughts in discourse. In fact, if more people are getting involved in political discourse via social media and engaging in politics, this seems to only result in many benefits. If more people are able to engage in political discourse with their online acquaintinces, then they will likely learn how to mold their opinions around the ideas of others and even educate those without much of a political background. Although allowing everyone to be entitled to his opinion can certainly result in faulty reasoning being advertised as the truth, this is simply inevitable when such a freedom is granted to the masses. Thus, it is the job of the user to educate himself using trustworthy resources along with the opinions of his peers so that he can ensure he is not believing a lie.

Although the argument claims that the wedding of social media and political discourse will lower the standards for news reporters, this claim appears to be near-sighted. Even if the blogosphere is contributing to a significant portion of political discourse, this is only significant if the blogosphere is citing credible sources. The blogosphere is not generating its own opinions without any support to back them up. Rather, the blogosphere is likely citing news articles and other prominent political figures and activists in its political discourse. Thus, news reporters still play an essential role in politics even with the rise of its popularity amongst the masses. News reporters have the ability to enter private places and interview people of interest and gain details on issues the public is unaware of. Their standards of reporting are unlikely to diminish due to the growing blogosphere since news reporters tend to be the primary source of most people's political opinions. Such logic parallels the history of women voters. Before they were allowed to vote, men thought that women voters would flood the pool of votes and be weaken the right to vote. However, it is apparent now that such thinking is not the case, and in fact voting is even more reflective on the general population's opinion now since voting is not exclusive. Furthermore, more people voting does not take away from standards held for government officials.

A democracy is built upon allowing every citizen to have a voice. This is further supported by the first amendment, in which everyone is granted freedom of speech. By claiming that the extension of this freedom of speech to the internet is harmful to political discourse is to ignore the principle of freedom of speech.