The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market.

Apex Corporation is planning on releasing a new line of coffee, “Gourmet Select” in order to satisfy the demand for artisanal coffee. Although a business plan was proposed, it makes a myriad of assumptions that render the optimism of the plan questionable. In order for Apex Corporation to fulfill its goal of making Gourmet Select one of the top sellers in the coffee market, it must address these assumptions in order to succeed.

The first assumption Apex Corporation makes is that its line of coffee “Gourmet Select” will satisfy the demand for artisanal coffee. Nowhere in the business plan does Apex Corporation address how Gourmet Select is different from other coffees or why it will answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee. Without this information, it is hard to conclude that Gourmet Select will satisfy those wanting artisanal coffee, much less become a “top seller” in the coffee market. Without addressing this vagueness, it is possible that Gourmet Select may not be any more successful than any other coffee currently on the market, which will result in Apex Corporation wasting money on the production of a mediocre-at-best product. Depending on how successful Apex Corporation is as a company to begin with, this could potentially be detrimental.

However, Apex Corporation does appear to be money-conscious as part of their business plan is to initially sustain sales through word-of-mouth advertising. Although this is a cheap and easy business plan for any business, it is not guaranteed to work if the company in question is unknown. Apex Corporation is assuming that they are popular enough that if they release a new artisanal coffee, people will talk about it and persuade each other to buy it. This business plan is even risky for businesses that are very popular, and Apex Corporation is assuming that simply releasing this new line of coffee and not advertising it will sustain sales. If this does happen to be successful, then Apex Corporation certainly saved a decent amount of money on advertisement. However, if Apex Corporation believes that they are more well-known then they actually are and word-of-mouth advertising is abysmal, then they will not be generating revenue on their new coffee line and will be losing money. Furthermore, “sustain sales” is a vague term and it is questionable as to what Apex Corporation wants out of their minimal advertising method. Do they want to break even and sell enough product to counter the money they spend on producing it? Or, do they want to generate a profit and make money off of the coffee being sold? This is unclear and must be addressed, as the latter certainly requires more effort to achieve than the former.

Furthermore, Apex Corporation assumes that major chain restaurants will be willing to sell Gourmet Select at their businesses, thus increasing the sales of Gourmet Select. Although this is not too profound of an idea, Apex Corporation once again leaves this as ambiguous. In order for this to work, Apex Corporation must have relationships to some extent with the owners of these major chain restaurants. Moreover, it is unlikely that these owners will want to sell Gourmet Select without also reaping some sort of benefit from this collaboration. Apex Corporation does not address in its business plan how it intends on proposing this plan to the other business owners or how they will all negotiate some sort of plan that works for everyone. If Apex Corporation does not know these restaurant owners too well, it is questionable as to whether or not they will be willing to help out Apex corporation. Furthermore, it is likely they will be wanting something in return for doing Apex corporation a favor, and if sales leading up to this point of Gourmet Select have not been too favorable, then it is possible that Apex corporation could end up owing a significant portion of their revenue to these business owners.

Although it is impossible for any business to anticipate every roadblock they will encounter, it is certainly not impossible to plan for a majority of them. Even though Apex Corporation devised a business plan to reach their goal of making their new line of artisanal coffee a top seller in the coffee market, they drafted a vague plan that left much open to interpretation. If they truly wish to achieve their goal, they must address many of the assumptions they made, otherwise it is possible that they may end up losing money from what they initially thought would be a raging success.