The City Council of Smithville has recommended making changes to police procedures to improve the visibility of the police force. These changes include hiring more officers, budgeting more funds for police overtime, and directing officers to patrol significantly more often on foot rather than from their patrol cars. These improvements in visibility would significantly lower the crime rate in Smithville and make its citizens feel safer

The argument that increasing the police visibility will decrease the rate of crime in the city of smithville is compelling, and might even look logical at first glance. however, the author relies on unsupported assumptions to leap from evidence to conclusion. Therefore, the argument is fundamentally flawed and unpersuasive.

First, for any of the stated reforms to work, the recommendation should practically be enacted. Supposing the police department is infact reformed as per the council recommendations, there is still the question whether the sort of crime that happens in the city of smithville is controllable by merely increasing the police force. The rampant crime in the city might have been due to some other city policy that oppresses the poor man; the poor man might be stealing and breaking into houses to have his daily meal. increasing the police force would certainly demotivate criminals; however, we should not jump into conclusions that they will be compelled to abstain from commiting crimes. Instead, they might connive to circumscribe the legal barriers, which in this case is the increased police-force, and thus elude being captured. Unless there is clear evidence where increasing the police force has led to a decreased crime rate, at least in another similar city, we cannot leap from the given evidence to a fully formed conclusion.

Second, the basic argument of the author is challenged by the unfortunate truth that the police department could have been corrupted with venality or even fear of powerful criminals. All these reforms are based on the premise that each individual policeman is loyal to his profession and will do a proper job. Simply put, we cannot conclude that police visibility correlates with decreased crime. Once more, it boils down to an inadequecy of evidence. Had the author provided information that summarizes the track records of the smithville police officers, the argument would have been much more cogent.

In conclusion, the assertion would have been bolstered, had the author supported his claims of how the new reforms are actually going to decrease the crime rate in the city with appropriate evidence. Without adequate proof, the audience to this argument must be skeptical when acting upon it. While it is too extreme to call the argument untrue, it is definetely safe to consider the author's conclusion as a mere conjecture; a conclusion based on limited evidence. After all, the author's assertion might in fact be true, however, not due to the validity of his assumptions, but due to latent correlations between variables and subtleties that are not captured in the author's argument.